The Old Co-op

The Old Co-op, 1898

This iconic building was once one of several Co-operative stores in and around Hebden Bridge, and served as a library and a bakery.  Built in 1898, its distinctive octagonal roof can be seen from across the valley, and it has long been a landmark building.  Following the demise of the Co-op Bank in the 1960s, and the subsequent closure of the Co-ops in and around Hebden Bridge, the building was converted into a domestic dwelling but retains its unique architectural features, with five sides of windows to the upper floor and double height living space.

The whole building was completely refurbished from 2008 – 2011, with top to toe works completed by local craftsmen and builders.

Building works in progress, 2008

Advertisements